The Goodwill Lamp.

As mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been getting super into home decor lately.

One of our favorite activities around the Hanson house is going to thrift stores and digging for “treasures”. In the past, Tristan has found brand new iPhone bumpers, I have found some nice dishes, etc. 

This past weekend we decided we were in need of new side tables. Currently we have these Ikea side tables which basically came with me from college and kind of suck. I actually have four of them due to their low price. Basically, everywhere you turn in our apartment you’ll see one of these tables. Anyway, as there are no drawers, the cats plague us every morning and night, attacking all of the wires that lay across the table. We decided enough was enough. 

As we went out in search for the perfect side tables, I was hoping to find something shaped slightly like THIS, and then I would paint it that exact gorgeous color. 

Unfortunately, furniture this weekend at all of our Goodwills was slim pickins… so we tabled that search (pun intended) and just began looking for other treasures. 

I came across a lamp base that I fell in love with. It was only $9.99 and was fairly large so I thought, hey why not get it? One trip to to big lots and a $10 lamp shade later and the lamp was complete! I am pretty happy with the way it turned out, what do you think? 

Also the best part is that the wiring was broken, so my husband had to basically re-wire it, which seemed simple enough at first but then became more complex when he realized it was an old Ikea lamp with metric wiring (??? I could have this statement wrong) and he had to work some magic. At one point he even pulled out his dremel

At the end of the day, we are pretty pleased with the outcome and all of his hard work just makes it that much better! 🙂 

ImageImage

5 thoughts on “The Goodwill Lamp.

Leave a Reply

