Cheap Tricks

Being a poor college kid, I’m totally about the cheaper alternatives… especially when it comes to beauty products! It’s amazing how these things can add up. So I thought I’d share some cheap tricks that I’ve tried in the past, and some others that I’ve heard of.

1) Monistat Anti-Chafing Gel as primer.

I’ve heard of this for quite some time now. The primer this method is most compared to is Smashbox Photo Finish Primer which usually costs around $36 for 1 oz. The Monistat Anti-Chafing Gel is usually around $8 for a 1.5 oz tube. Obviously we can see an automatic discount of $28- and a bigger tube! The only down side I can see thus far is the embarrassment of purchasing the Monistat Anti-Chafing Gel. However, I took the plunge and did it! I’ve used it for a few days and I’m really liking it! It feels amazing on the skin.

Next you can compare the ingredients, Smashbox Photo Finish ingredients:

Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Propylene Glycol, Water (Aqua), Vitis Vinifera Seed Extract (Grape), Kola Nut Seed Extract (Cola Acuminata), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract

Monistat Anti-Chafing Gel ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Trisiloxane, Dimethicone/Vinyldimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica

As you can see, they’re pretty similar.

I’ve never used the Smashbox primer, however, I have used my fair share of other primers ranging from drugstore to department store brands, and let me tell you- this is the best I’ve used yet! I definitely recommend it, and will purchase it again!

2) Elmer’s glue as pore strips.

I’ve NEVER been a fan of the Biore pore strips. I’ve always thought the benefits were severly lacking as compared to the cons. I hate the way they feel on, I hate how much it hurts to pull them off, I hate the way my nose feels after they’re off, and lastly, I hate that they cost around 10 dollars for 6 strips! What a terrible deal. I can’t think of anything I like about them. And even afterward, I never feel very successful.

I have yet to try this Elmer’s glue trick but here are what some other’s have said:

“Elmer’s glue works just as well as Biore strips. Have you ever slathered the glue on your hands and watched it dry and then peeled it off? Spread a little glue on your acne-prone area and let it dry. Then, peel it off. It will “grab” every little particle of dirt and lift it away.”- (via)

I can’t promise I’ll ever try this, knowing how much I hate the Biore strips, but if I ever decide I want to purge my pores, this is how I’ll do it!

3) Toilet cover sheets as oil absorbing sheets.

My good friend Alanna told me about this one. Thanks to my mom, I have pretty oily skin (but hey, at least I’m naturally preventing wrinkles). So I was really excited to hear about this one. I love those oil absorbing sheets, and they’re not too expensive, but the price difference of $4 doesn’t hurt! And if I can go about getting the same effect for free? Dude, I’m game!

So next time you’re in a public restroom, take a toilet seat cover, cut it up into sheets, put them in a cute case, and carry them around with you for a mid afternoon shine fix!

4. Vaseline as eye makeup remover.

I love this trick. I love Vaseline. I use it for almost everything. Chapstick, wrinkle cream, eye make up remover, etc. Plus, I get the cute little travel sized bottle at walmart for 1 dollar, and you can’t beat that!

I used to go through eye makeup remover like it was going out of style. I would use generous amounts at night, as well as in the morning after taking a shower. With the average bottle of make up removing costing nearly 7 dollars, this was getting expensive.

But then one night I saw an interview with an Asian woman who swore by using Vaseline as wrinkle cream, she said she had put it around her eyes at night for many years- and her skin looked amazing! Right then and there I began using it for every reason I could think of.

And with a price difference of upwards of 6 dollars, I was a happy camper!

5. Hair conditioner as shave cream.

Lets face it, shaving cream is expensive for what it is. Not only is it expensive, but it comes in tiny packaging and I don’t know about you- but I go through those suckers fast!

One day I bought a conditioner that I ended up not really liking for my hair, having thick hair, I need a conditioner that really moisturizes my hair- and this one just wasn’t cutting it. So I decided to put it to good use and used it as shaving cream. Not only is the bottle much larger and lasts FOREVER, but it works really nicely as shaving cream. Sure, you don’t get the white foam and it’s not as fun. But when you’re saving money- it’s always fun.

So there you have it! My cheap tricks when it comes to beauty. What are some of yours??

_____________________________

PS! Don’t forget to vote for my Kingsty-Bear in the beautiful baby contest!

You can do so by clicking HERE, or by pushing the VOTE button to your right!

Thanks so much!

14 thoughts on “Cheap Tricks

  1. Alanna says:

    I forgot to ask you when you were purchasing #1, but what exactly is finishing primer used for? I use a primer before I put my makeup on, but I don’t know what a finish primer is.

    With #2, do you know if you should only use it on your nose pores?

    And I totally used #3 last night before seeing Eclipse, because I’d gone from dance class straight to the movie theater!

    • Kimberly says:

      It goes under your foundation… it basically smooths out your skin, makes your pores smaller, and helps for foundation to go on smoother. Plus it helps to make your foundation stay on longer, with less shine for those of us oily skinned folk. 🙂

      That’s awesome that you did your little trick last night. 🙂 You’ll have to tell me how you enjoyed Eclipse!!

    • Kimberly says:

      haha nice! i haven’t bought it in forever either! when i was younger i always wanted the cool shaving cream they’d show on commercials but my mom was all about just using a soap bar to lather up, so I had to be creative 🙂

      • emilie18 says:

        I’m really intrigued by number one. I’ve always been too cheap to shell out for a primer, but I’ve always wanted to try one.

      • Kimberly says:

        Yeah, this is a great alternative! Especially since primer is something you go through kind of fast— or at least I do! 🙂

  2. Crystal says:

    I’ve always wondered if school glue would do the same trick as Biore pore strips, but I’ve never worked up the nerve to try it. Especially after ripping off the Biore strips brought tears to my eyes.

    And I’m definitely going to go out and buy some Vaseline now. Thanks for the tip. 😀

      • S says:

        Yeah. It went pretty much as expected, meaning I just had a bunch of Elmer’s glue on my face. A lot of my hair got in it, it didn’t peel off right, and I’m pretty sure my skin is in WORSE shape now. So, yeah, wouldn’t do it again.

  3. sheboppin' says:

    ah genius! Vaseline is actually the only kind of make up remover I’ve ever used, I had some smart cookies teach me make up tricks early on. But not this glue idea! I’m definitely going to try it…I always find that the strips never fit in the positions I want it to fit haha.

Leave a Reply

