Summer Reads.

I was recently inspired by Andrew Ferguson who had a recent post about some of the books he wants to read over the next 12 months… so it got me thinking about the books I’ve been collecting over the past year thinking I’d have time while I was in school to read. Of course that time never magically appeared, so here are the 6 books I want to read over the next three months of summer!

1. Stiff by Mary Roach.

(via)

I bought this book when I was on my cruise this past December with the Boyfriend. I was super excited because every year at WSU the freshman class collectively reads a book, my year it was Flu: The Story of The Great Influenza Pandemic of 1918 and The Search For The Virus That Caused It. I’m not going to lie… I wasn’t the biggest fan of that book, then the following year, the freshman class all read this Stiff book and I thought it sounded SO cool… a book about cadavers! Being a Speech and Hearing Sciences major, I have personally had the opportunity to go into the cadaver lab to look at larynx’s and hemi-heads, so I was already intrigued. And let me tell you- I’ve only read the first chapter, but it has not disappointed. In the first chapter, she talks about a convention in which various plastic surgeons come from around the country and pay a huge fee to practice their skills on “fresh” heads… basically the heads are from the recently deceased and haven’t had any chemicals pumped into them so the skin stays as bendable and natural as possible. Overall, if you have space, I’d add this puppy into your summer reading list!

2. Killers: The Most Barbaric Murderers of Our Time by Nigel Cawthorne.

(via)

I have always been a pretty big fan of learning about cults and unsolved mysteries. This book is awesome for that… it is split up into 12 murderers or murdering groups and basically gives a full detailed history on every person they killed… it’s pretty gruesome and honestly kind of scares me if I read it at night, so I tend to only read it when its light out. Silly, I know. Either way, it’s pretty interesting and I’m really excited to learn more.

3. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson.

(via)

I’d say this book has been one of the most hyped books of the year, it’s on every Barnes and Noble table… or Hasting’s shelf, but because I’m a follower, I need to read it. When Eat, Pray, Love was everywhere I read it proudly- and I can honestly say that was one of the best books I ever read, so hey- maybe this one will live up to it’s praise?

4. Stolen Innocence by Elissa Wall.

(via)

Being the huge FDLS fan I am… I had to add this book to my reading list. I had previously read Under The Banner of Heaven and Escape, and I must say- the FDLS are one of the most interesting groups EVER. I guess some might say this could go along with my obsession with cults.

5. Naturally Thin by Bethenny Frankel.

(via)

I always like learning about new diets and ways to eat healthy and be healthier overall, plus my good friend Alyssa had told me that this book had some fantastic recipes in it… so of course- I was sold! I’ll let you all know how it is!

6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

(via)

This is another book that has been seriously hyped lately- almost to the point of Twilight. But I must say, JHall and Sister read this book long long long ago, and I have had it on loan from JHall since what seems like forever. I actually have read quite a bit of it… but I do need to finish it. Obviously it’s teen fiction so it’s not the best writing in the world- but it is really addicting and has a great plot! I definitely suggest it for poolside reading this summer!

So there you have it! 6 books I’ve been dying to read/finish!

What’s on your list?

3 thoughts on “Summer Reads.

  1. Kelli says:

    “Stiff” was really good. Actually, all of Mary Roach’s stuff is fantastic.

    I’m going to write down these other books. They all look pretty interesting.

  2. Pingback: Vacation. «

Leave a Reply

