Bikram Yoga??

Lately I’ve been hearing a lot about Bikram Yoga, or Hot Yoga. And I’m really interested and it sounds kind of fun, so I looked up locations in the Olympia area thinking I might want to check it out this summer, maybe rope Sister into doing it too. And this is what the main website I found said:

“Bikram Yoga is a demanding series of 26 postures that are performed in a precise order and practiced in a room heated 95-105 degrees. This 90 minute program systematically works the entire body, concentrating on the essence of every organ, bone, joint, muscle, ligament, tendon, blood vessel, nerve and gland. Incorporating strength, balance and flexibility, each pose stimulates the mind, restores and shapes the body.”

(Via- Hot Yoga Olympia)

Sounds neat right? The only thing is…

A) It’s in Olympia, so I’d have to drive 15 minutes-ish to get there. It would be more convenient in my own town. And…

B) It’s expensive! Ok maybe I’ve been out of the whole gym experience for a while, but these rates seem pretty high! A “10 Class Card” is $115… and using my brain skills, I would think that means you attend 10 classes… for 115 dollars! Am I the only one that thinks that’s kind of extreme? Like maybe I should just heat a room in my house to 95 degrees and get a Yoga book??

I don’t know. What do you think? Have you tried it? Or if you’re from the Olympia area… do you know of other places… when I googled around I couldn’t really find anywhere that seemed as legit as this place.

Let me know! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Bikram Yoga??

  1. Ashlee says:

    Okay I am going to be totally honest with you. I am a huge yoga buff and absolutely HATED bikram yoga with every ounce of my being. I paid $20 for a 10 day trial and never went back after the first time! I found it to be completely miserable and I felt super claustrophobic the whole time. After the class ended I had a headache for the rest of the night and just felt really sick. Having said that, I then tried a “hot yoga” trial where the room was heated to 90 (as opposed to 102), and I LOVED it. My muscles warmed up quickly and I found it to be a great workout.

    All that being said: some people love bikram, and some people hate it. I would definitely do a trial before purchasing a 10 class card. And, if you have any hot yoga classes in your area that aren’t as hot as Bikram, I would check those out!

Leave a Reply

