Reality Check.

So as some of you know, I’m a Speech and Hearing Sciences major. What’s that? I’ll be a Speech Language Pathologist. What’s that? I’ll be a Speech Therapist. OH ok.

You know those people who don’t really know what they want to do so they just settle on a random major like communications or business? Well I am not one of those, I KNOW I want to be a Speech Language Pathologist desperately. I love my classes, I love how small my major is, and I absolutely am very interested in communication disorders.

And now I’m having a panic attack.

This past week there was an optional meeting for SHS majors to attend, in which one of our professors was going to speak on going to grad school, how to prepare to apply, and what schools have the best programs.

In the major she said school generally want you to have at least a 3.0 in general GPA, and 3.6 and higher in your major classes for a GPA.

This makes me very nervous. I have a 3.22 overall, and 3.64 in my major classes, therefore I need to work extra hard to keep it up, and hopefully get higher.

But after listening in at this meeting I can’t help but feel like all of my dreams will just be taken away and I’ll be forced to do something else.

What can I do with a Speech and Hearing Sciences major?

1. Child Welfare Caseworker (SAD, no thanks!)

2. Community Service Agency Worker (Boo.)

3. Rehabilitation Counselor (Is it just me or are these getting more depressing as we go on?)

I think you get the picture. I desperately want to go to grad school, I never even thought not going would be a possibility.

This makes me want to cry.

Today my friend Alyssa and I decided to as our professor about some schools because she seemed to know the reputations on the schools and how the programs were there.

We asked about the following schools: Portland State, University of Oregon, San Diego State, and some schools in the Boston area.

We already knew the reputations of the schools in Washington.

She basically continued to tell us that PSU and UO are both extremely competitive schools. (YIKES!) As well as the rest of the schools we asked about.

Then she told us we should consider schools on the other side of the country, and that there were lots of options.

But I don’t know how to go about this, I don’t know where to look, and I just feel so lost.

Then I asked if she’s ever seen students not get into any grad school.

Yes.

😦

Apparently last year there were “quite a few” students who didn’t get into a grad school.

I’m officially depressed.

What if I’m one?

What’s so special about me?

I think this clearly means I need to work really hard, and do some more volunteer work, maybe work with a Speech Therapist if possible.

Please someone, tell me something uplifting to make me feel better.

11 thoughts on “Reality Check.

  1. foresightyourctpsychic says:

    what if you’re not the one who gets shut out?
    what if, since you already have the grades to meet their high standards, they welcome you with open arms?
    what if, since this is your passion, you find amazing talent in this area(after all you’re young and still growing into your skills)?

    You asked if anyone ever gets shut out and projected a worst case scenario on yourself. This can work against you. Far better to play “what-if-up” , project the best options and then work your best to achieve them(studies find that focusing on a particular reality increases it’s chances of happening, so focus on the good stuff)

    A better question than” does anyone ever get shut out?” is ” what percentage get in and what did they do to make that happen?” Model success and you’re more likely to suceed.

    Remember, you’ve currently got MORE than they’re looking for…

    Good luck
    Catherine

    • Kimberly says:

      Thank you so much for this comment. It made me feel so much better, and you’re SO right. I should be looking at the bright side. I just have a dark cloud over my head. And honestly there’s nothing I can do now but try extremely hard and make some good connections.
      Thank you so much. 🙂

    • jrl says:

      Very good advice, but it doesn’t hurt to realistically examine the worst case scenario. Often we worry so much about failure that we put a lot of unnecessary pressure on ourselves. Once you realize that you can survive the worst, that you will take care of yourself and be alright regardless of what happens, a lot of that pressure will disappear.
      But, yes, focus on the good stuff.

  2. jrl says:

    A good friend of mine is a speech therapist for a school district in Western Washington. She loves her job and is very proud of her work. It’s a job most people don’t think much about, but she’s made me realize how valuable speech therapists can be. So I rooting for you.
    The thing about life is that things may not turn out as you plan them, but if you give it your best and have a bit of faith, they usually work out better than you could ever plan them.
    So, I wouldn’t worry. Besides, it sounds like you’re doing a pretty good job, and you have passion. I would be surprised if you don’t make it.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Yeah, don’t worry about it too much kimmi! At least you are looking into Grad school early and you know what you need to get done in order to get in. This is a very good thing – it gives you time to be focused and meet your goal. 🙂 Now you should research your top 3 grad schools and their requirements to get in… and make that your focus for the next two years. You’re determined – you’ll make it!

Leave a Reply

