Sex. Clothes. Popularity. Is there a problem here?

123046__clueless_l

18608809

The above title is the tagline of a little movie called Clueless. I’m sure most of you have heard/seen Clueless. This movie and later tv show happened to be one of my favorite things ever when I was younger. But I never realized how dirty it was until I got older. There were so many quotes that I went around saying that I really should have. Each time I watch it I figure out what something new means that I had never noticed before. Some of my favorite quotes that are subtle yet dirty/not appropriate for an 8 year old are as follows:

Tai: I could really use some sort of herbal refreshment.

Dionne: Oh, well we do lunch in ten minutes. We don’t have any tea, but we have Coke and stuff.

Tai: No shit. You guys got Coke here? 

Dionne: Well, yeah.

Cher: Yeah, this is America.

(Obviously, “Tai” is speaking about drugs… I never realized this, until probably my sophomore year of high school… yeah I’m slow.)

Amber: Ms. Stoeger, my plastic surgeon doesn’t want me doing any activity where balls fly at my nose. 

Dionne: Well, there goes your social life.

(Grossss!)

Cher: I was surfing the crimson wave. I had to haul ass to the ladies’.

(I might use this one next time I’m talking to my professors about being late… haha)

Murray: Your man Christian is a cake boy!

Cher and Dionne: A what?

Murray: He’s a disco-dancing, Oscar Wilde reading, Streissand ticket holding friend of Dorothy, know what I’m saying?
Cher: Uh-uh, no way, not even! 

Murray: Yes even, he’s gay!

Dionne: He does like to shop, Cher.  And the boy can dress.

(I love the Stressand ticket holding part. haha)

Cher: Wasn’t my mom a total Betty? She died when I was young. A freak accident during a routine liposuction.

(I think I’m going to start saying Betty when referring to a babe. haha)

There are a ton more. Aside from my mother allowing me to watch this multiple times when I was little (and maybe she did because she knew I wouldn’t understand the lingo) I love this movie. And always will. I mainly watched it for the clothes and hair anyways. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Sex. Clothes. Popularity. Is there a problem here?

  1. moose says:

    I completely understand what you are saying. While I didn’t really watch Clueless much when I was little, I have had the same experience with several other movies growing up. I watch them now and can’t believe what I wasn’t able to comprehend at the time!

  2. Jennifer says:

    hey… what about “jeepin”… that was a good clueless term. and i’m pretty sure it doesn’t imply 4-wheelin’ in the woods, in a jeep.

    sheesh kim… you’re such a “full on monet!” 🙂

    …. only kidding.

  3. thebluecan says:

    Whatever became of Alicia Silverstone? She was all the rage back in the day, what with the Aerosmith videos and Clueless. Then she was in the classic Blast From The Past (I love that movie), and that was it. Yeah, I know, she has been in other things, but clearly this has not been a good decade for her.

Leave a Reply

