Naked.

 

Over the months my baby blog has been blooming, I’ve thought a lot about whether or not I should have made this blog completely anonymous. Just a place for me to write my thoughts- no matter how terrible, crude, rude, annoying, or stupid (etc.) they could possibly get. I wouldn’t have to worry about who’s reading, and what they think of me. Mainly, because at the end of the day, they would have no idea who was behind these words.

 

There have been many instances where I’ve thought, “man I’d really like to write about that right now” but decided against it because of who I know personally that reads what I write on wordpress. It’s not that I don’t love feeling like readers get a personal explanation of who I am through photos and the details of my life- I just sometimes wonder how things would be if I had thought this blog through a bit more before I began it. Who knows, if I had… would there be a theme? Would I be only writing on interesting bumper stickers I encounter? Or would I be ranting consistently about professors and essays? The possibilities are endless.

 

And at times like this, I think of different authors of blogs and novels that I have read that are completely fearless in sharing their whole selves with the world, even down to the nitty-gritty details. One of my favorite authors is David Sedaris. He has no fear when it comes to revealing his life.  He tells stories without sugar coating (or so I hope). Sometimes I even feel sorry for his family with the ridicule they must get from some of the stories about them that he publishes. But at the same time… it’s honest and beautiful writing. The kind of stories people can relate to, because it’s their own thoughts put on paper. I would love to be this open with myself.

 

However, the matter of fact is… my blog is not anonymous. Therefore, I shy away from writing embarrassing stories or things about boys I may or may not like.  Maybe one day I’ll begin an anonymous blog beside this one. I don’t think I could ever part with this one… it was my first step out of the kiddy pool that is a myspace blog.  Sometimes when I get really bored (and I mean REALLY) I’ll go through my archives and read things from when I first began this blog. And although it was less than a year ago- I feel like I’ve grown. I’ve changed… morphed… and so has my baby blog. She is now a toddler… entering the terrible two’s stage of her life. Which may bring new experiences to tell of (I seriously hope so).

 

So what it all comes down to is although I may regret the lack of privacy I have built myself within this blog… I look forward to sharing my future experiences, and who knows… maybe even being a bit more open about myself with you all. What do I really have to hide, right?

2 thoughts on “Naked.

  1. joshlos says:

    I know exactly what you’re talking about. Sometimes I wish I’d gone the anonymous route. Now, unfortunately, I know I have at least one friend who reads mine that would probably be all on my case if I said some of the stuff I really want to say. And I mean stuff from my life! I wish I’d thought mine through more ahead of time, but it’s kinda just morphed into what it is, and I’m not sure I want to step away from it. Maybe I just suck it up and forget who I know’s reading and go for the release anyway? Who knows…

  2. Kimberly says:

    Yeah… I’ve thought about that a lot too. I mean these friends reading my blog would love me one way or the other… so deep down is it just my fear of what random people may think of me? I’ve always been one to fear judgement…

Leave a Reply

