You can’t always have a case of the “Mondays”!

There are so many things about my work place that amuses me daily. I’ve already mentioned the clutter everyone seems to leave around in our staff kitchens, and hall closets. However, there is one thing I’ve been noticing lately, and that’s tardy-ness. As a student worker, I am almost always at work 5-10 minutes early.  I think this may just be a personality trait of mine though. Even at school I would get to class 10 minutes early, which would drive my friends batty because I’d drag them along with me- just to sit on hard chairs in an empty classroom the size of my house.

Butsometimes it’s a bit ridiculous how late people show up to work. I’m not kidding you- it’s not uncommon for someone at my work to show up 30 minutes to an hour late daily… and nothing happens.  And at the end of the day I often feel as though I’m the last to leave. Walking out into the empty parking lot, I always wonder where everyone went and how I didn’t notice them all leave one by one. I guess it’s just baffling to me that people can do this daily, year after year as if 8-5 is just a suggestion and yet… nothing happens.

 

 

On a different note… I’ve been thinking a lot of about customer service skills as well, and what it takes to be nice to customer after customer for 8 hours a day. I read somewhere that 1 out of 10 customers are friendly/nice to the person serving them, however, I feel as though it’s the opposite. I think 1 out of 10 servers are friendly/nice to the person they’re serving. I can confidently say I am always the 1 out of 10 that is nice to the person serving me, and although I have never worked in a customer service type job, it really angers me when I am treated horribly.  I always smile at whoever is “ringing me up” and when they ask how I am, I always say good and ask how their day is going. Yet, often times they feel the need to be rude and take out their frustrations on me.

This is not so bad, I can deal with it. But what REALLY bothers me is when the server speaks to me as though I am an ignorant child. Yes- I’m 19, but I hate being treated like I’m 10. Or as though  I’m not a valued customer because of my age.

My sister is 6.5 years older than me, but when we hang out together I think I bring her down in age, more times than not people think we’re twins. So when I was home over spring break her and I decided to eat at “Stephen’s” (which is the restaurant catering her wedding). And the service was HORRIBLE! They ignored us the whole time, served everyone before us, and then took forever to give us our check. I just wish they would have known the entire time that she’s dishing out three thousand dollars for them to cater her entire wedding. Maybe then they wouldn’t have acted like we were homeless people trying to steal food from their kitchen.

I guess what it really comes down to is, I just wish people would have more respect for one another, whether it’s in our work places, or in public places. Just be nice. 🙂

2 thoughts on “You can’t always have a case of the “Mondays”!

  1. clevergrl says:

    I freak out if I’m not ten minutes early for EVERYTHING. To me, ten minutes early is on time. Lateness is a sign of disrespect for the people you are meeting. I’m glad you are on time, all the time! Maybe it will help combat the stereotype that students are always late. Though, most are…

    I was a server for a long, long time. I totally agree that 1/10 customers are nice. In my experience, however, I didn’t find that 1/10 servers are nice – I have found that most of them are. It is how you make money. Looking at your age though, I can understand why some servers don’t give you their full attention.

    I have to admit that I would favor the customers that were most likely to tip me more. It is how I made my living. And customers your age tend to tip very little, if anything. I actually received a pile of pennies and nickels once for a 130$ tab. I gave it back to them.

    Still, you are right, everyone should receive the same kind of service no matter their age. Kind of sucks that so many college age kids and teenagers don’t feel it necessary to tip well. I try to teach my students that if they can’t afford to tip, they can’t afford to go out. Too bad so few parents feel the need to teach their kids this!

  2. Kimberly says:

    Haha, that’s very true. I feel as though I always tip well… but then again- I may be the exception from my age group. But the stigma that goes along with my age group and the way people act towards my age group when in restaurants or other public places makes it very hard for me to want to be generous with my tip. Haha, it’s a vicious circle! But thanks for your insights!

Leave a Reply

