Pages of interest.

SO.

My bible study girls and I decided to start a book club! Hurray! Originally we were attempting to figure out what religious book we wanted to read this summer, then decided to have a general book club in which we will meet on Wednesday nights and discuss the book from the previous week. We are counting on doing one book about every two weeks or less, if possible.

I am beyond thrilled! Each member of the group will choose a book and when it is their week and their book they will come up with the discussion questions and lead the group.

We are beginning with The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver. As some of you may know she is the author of The Poisonwood Bible.  This book was my bible study leaders choice- as a person with amazing taste, I can’t wait to start reading her choice.

I’ve started looking into books I’m interested in reading. I think I’ve decided on The Septembers of Shiraz by Dalia Sofer.

Since I’ve been home I’ve been reading like crazy. I read Under The Banner of Heaven, which is by the same author of Into the Wild. It was an extremely interesting book about Fundamentalist Mormons and some stories of violent faith.  After this book I decided to read Twilight by Stephenie Meyer because my friend Jess had been telling me to read it for a long time, and one I began I couldn’t set it down! I read it in two days! Then hoping the library would have the next two “sequals” (it didn’t) I rented Diary of a Mad Housewife which was entertaining and now– I’m still waiting for the next two books after Twilight to come in, and I still need to get my book club book.

SO that’s what’s new in the library of Kimmi. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Pages of interest.

  1. emilie18 says:

    Man I feel silly now, I never realized those media buttons were there. OH well. Now that you’ve helped me you need to go back to my 2nd to last post and watch my movie. It’s quite good. 🙂

    thx!

  2. Alanna says:

    You can borrow New Moon and Eclipse from me! Vampire romance novels are my guilty pleasure… As Emilie could tell you all about since I keep making her borrow new series I discover.

  3. Alanna says:

    I live pretty close to downtown if you want to swing by my house and pick them up sometime… or I can give them to Emilie to give to you whenever I see her next. Leave me a myspace comment letting me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

