Holidays, Plans, and Resolutions, Oh my!

bored.jpg

Alright, as promised here is the run down of my so uneventful New Years Eve.

To begin, lets rewind.  Remember how I had coffee with my friend Kalea the other day?  Well she and I decided to have a New Years Eve party.  Neither of us had ever been to one, besides with our families.  We even made a guest list (my side of the list being super short, due to the fact I lack friends on this side of the state).  The very next day we had plans to go shopping, right when I get in the car she tells me she has some bad news… one of her other friends is having a New Years Eve party and all of her friends that we had invited were going to that party.  So we were back to square one.  Then we decided we would just go to her family friend’s house because they were throwing a party. 

In high school I had a semi-serious boyfriend who I dated for almost two years off and on.  He currently has a new girlfriend, and we don’t really keep in contact. But Kalea informed me that they had been having problems and that everyone wanted them to break up.  The reason I’m telling you all this is because she wanted him to come to the house for a small get together so he would see me again. 

I don’t know why, but I get slightly excited about this.  I’ve never been that girl, the one that is interested in a boy regardless of if he is in a relationship.  I don’t think I was even interested, maybe I was excited because I hadn’t seen him in a while and I thought it would be fun to see his reaction to how I’ve changed since I was at school, or maybe I wanted to see how he had changed, whatever the reason I was excited.  I even planned out an outfit. (Dress and all). 

So New Years Eve night I’m getting ready and I get a message from Kalea that says her family friend’s don’t want anyone spending the night at their house that night, so we would have to leave after midnight.  I already know this isn’t going to fly with my parents because they have a perpetual fear of the drunks coming out to play after 10 at night.  So disappointed, I tell her that I can’t make it, but thanks for trying to make things work.  Then she writes back and tells me, “if it makes you feel any better, J and V got back together and he’s not coming”.  Which makes me feel even better, not really.  And for the third time I just want to point out, this isn’t because I have a “thing” for him, it’s just all of the excitement of the night being sucked out. 

Soon after I realize I am doomed to spend New Years Eve, not in my dress- but in sweats with my parents.  😦 I actually thought this one was going to be different. 

Later my sister calls me and tells me her and Trevor are coming to get me and I’m spending the night at their house where we’ll play sims and watch I love new york marathons.  Can I just point out what a great sister I have, saving me from a night of boredom.  So I ended up having a pretty okay time at her house and they made sure I was happy the whole night.

This is where I get confused, because J texts me and asks me if I’m at the party- I tell him no and that I’m at my sister’s, and he says, “Good… I just wanted to make sure you weren’t alone tonight”.  (So weird- we haven’t spoke in a while).  Alright then this morning I have a comment from him on my myspace that simply says, “well hello”. okay what does he want from me?  I am not that girl.  I’ll say it every five minutes if I have to, I’m not the girl to sit around and wait to see how he feels tomorrow- I’d just move on.  Not that I’d want to anyways, I haven’t seen or talked to him in months.

Anyways, I’ve decided I’m going to forget about the whole situation and focus on what’s important, the NEW YEAR!

Here are my top five goals for 2008:

1) Focus on school, actually study, and actually TRY.

2) Try to have a better relationship with my mother.  Our relationship has had such a strain on it since before I left, and once I was gone, coming back to that strain and the rules of her “household” was really tough. 

3) Being a better friend.  While I was at school first semester, my only friend I stayed in contact with was of course Jessica, but I want to actually keep in touch with my other good friends, like Kalea. 

4) Take better care of my stuff.  This might be a weird one but at times I hate to say it but I am sloppy and my stuff gets ruined in the process.  I have nice things, and I want to keep it that way. 

5) Work on managing money.  I kind of went crazy my first semester.  I don’t have a job at school, but I still spend money and shop like I do, I just need to take it down a notch.

So there you have it.  I hope everyone had a great 2007!

Leave a Reply

