You have bewitched me body and soul.

red-door.jpg

Love stories are always the same, throughout the years there has always been a man and woman and two different possibilities.  Either they click right away, or they don’t and after a series of arguments, eventually click.  This is of course with variation. 

I have always loved Jane Austen, even when I was younger I would sit and attempt to read her novels (especially Pride & Prejudice), confused by the old fashioned “lingo”. 

My friend Emily and I were talking about this the other day and we both agreed we would like to fall in love just as Elizabeth Bennett did.  However, so far while being at school I have not met anyone worth being interested in.  It may be that freshman excitement, whatever the reason I feel as though I’m out of place, and at least 20 years older than everyone around me.

I think I’ve always had an “old soul”.  I’ve always been the one more interested in reading, than playing tag.  I am not saying, however, that I missed out on any part of my childhood, because I had an amazing childhood.  I just feel so though I should’ve been born in a different era, one in which I could relate to people my own age more often.

Call me old fashioned- but I’m just waiting for my Mr. Darcy.

4 thoughts on “You have bewitched me body and soul.

  1. brittanyhasthoughts says:

    i read this in passing 🙂
    im the same, i love jane austen, even if no one else i know reads it, apart from my gran.
    my mum says i have an ‘old soul’, i think thats the way i like it.
    ‘old souls’ seem to have better instincts 🙂
    i would have like to have been born around austen’s time, or maybe a bit later, say stoker’s time period, without the consumption epidemics though obviously.
    sorry for yapping on, thats all i wanted to say really; that i relate to this.
    thanks 🙂

  2. talialovesyou says:

    i’m totally with you. sadly, i only know jerks at this point in my life. i’d settle for a nice guy just to be friends with, just one guy to prove to me that not all men are evil. apparently i’m on the waiting list.

    in the meantime, i have a camera named mr. darcy. :]]

Leave a Reply

