Fast times.

street.jpg

Sometimes it’s funny how slow time goes by, yet when you look back you wonder where it all went.  All of senior year I was dying to get out of high school, yet now that I am out, I miss the comforts and simplicity of being home.  It’s funny how out of your element you can feel just by not being in a natural environment.

At home everyone knows your name, who you are, and what you stand for.

At school you introduce yourself to someone new every day. 

I miss my best friend more than ever all of the sudden, what with the holidays being just around the corner.  I remember being content to sit in my house all day long on a Sunday, just watching the rain fall, or my cats sleeping on a couch.  Jessica and I would watch movies like it was going out of style.  And I was so happy.

I know we all have to move on in life. But it feels so hard right now. One minute I’ll feel inspired, and I’ll remember why I’m here in the first place.  I am so lucky to even be at school, I thank God for that.

Maybe it’s because the weather is changing and I’m getting into the pre-Thanksgiving funk, but I just wish I could be in this funk at home. With the people I love.

I feel like I’m missing out on so much by being here. I’m missing my sister plan her wedding, my bible study leader is pregnant with her first child, among other things… I told this to my friend Sam today, and she reminded me how much I am gaining while being here. It’s hard to move on without looking back, but I guess it’s something well all have to do.

It’s funny how much a hug can mean.  At home I never thought of this, however, being away- where I rarely get a hug, I miss them. It’s easy to feel lonely without human contact. Maybe a hug would make me feel better.

I’ll leave you with this quote that I absolutely love.

“We are born helpless.  As soon we are fully conscious we discover lonliness.  We need others physically, emotionally, intellectually; we need them if we are to know anything, even ourselves.” -C.S. Lewis, Four Loves.

Leave a Reply

